13.07.2012 - 19.08.2012

TENT Academy Awards 2012

On the evening of Friday 13 July 2012, TENT presents the TENT Academy Awards, the annual film competition that shines the spotlight on the best graduating audiovisual talent from the Netherlands and abroad. The TENT Academy Award will be presented by an international jury, including Defne Ayas and Sacha Bronwasser, during the award evening in Cinerama Filmtheater. An award will also be presented to the best graduating audiovisual artist from the guest country Turkey.

International Jury in 2012
This year’s international jury is chaired by Sacha Bronwasser, art critic of the Volkskrant and programme advisor for the International Film Festival Rotterdam. The other members of the jury are: Defne Ayas, director Witte de With contemporary art center, Ahmet Öğüt, visual artist, lives and works in Amsterdam and Istanbul, and Floris Kaayk, laureate animator and film director.

Guest country Turkey
This year Turkish film students are also participating in the competition. For a number of years the film culture in guest country Turkey has been flourishing, with international figureheads such as Atif Yilmaz and Nuri Bilge Ceylan and film artists Kutluğ Ataman and Ahmet Öğüt. The TENT Academy Awards will be shown in the Pera Museum in Istanbul in the autumn of 2012, as part of the TAA international tour, which begins in Rotterdam, calls in at the Melkweg Mediaroom in Amsterdam and, among other European venues, visits the Pera museum for modern art in Istanbul (in collaboration with EYE International).

All the graduation exhibitions in the Netherlands visited
Exhibition organizers, art critics and curators visit the graduation exhibitions of the Dutch art academies to select the nominations for the TENT Academy Awards. All the Dutch academies participate, supplemented with a selection from the art vocational training courses in Turkey, namely: Yeditepe University, Sabancı University, Bilkent University, Istanbul Kültür University and the Yıldız Teknik University.

The scouts for 2012 are: founder of FULL Art Prize Istanbul Oyku Ozsoy, program maker Stroom Maaike Lauwaert, Karina van Bezooijen director KOP Breda, filmmaker Ari Deelder, artist Han Hoogerbrugge, artist and co-founder of Trendbeheer Niels Post, webmaster of Mister Motley Irene de Craen, apprentice curator Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam Britte Sloothaak, webmaster of Metropolis M Jolien Verlaek, film critic and programmer at EYE International Mustafa Özen, director of Nieuwe Vide, Haarlem Jaring Dürst Britt and director of platform TAG, The Hague Suzanne Wallinga.

The nominees for TENT Academy Award 2012 are:
Inge Meijer – ArtEZ Hogeschool voor de Kunsten, Arnhem
Eli Walter – AKV St. Joost, s’-Hertogenbosch
Simon Bus – Academie Beeldende Kunsten, Maastricht
Vera van Wolferen – ArtEZ Hogeschool voor de Kunsten, Enschede
Michal Owsinski – Gerrit Rietveld Academie, Amsterdam
Thomas de Rijk – Willem de Kooning Academie, Rotterdam
Teun Vonk – Koninklijke Academie van Beeldende Kunsten, Den Haag
Carina van der Ham – CABK Artez Zwolle
Albert Hofman – Academie Minerva, Groningen
Eef Hilgers – AKV St. Joost, Breda

The nominees of the TENT Academy Award for Best Foreign Film 2012 from Turkey are:
Emre Gülcan – Yildiz Teknik University, Istanbul
Ahmet Baturay Tavkul – Istanbul Kültür University, Istanbul
Handan Oral – Bilkent University, Ankara
Deniz Taygaroglu – Yeditepe University, Istanbul
Ceren Paydas – Sabanci University, Istanbul

Data Award show TENT Academy Awards 2012
Date: Friday 13 July 2012, TENT Academy Award show
Time: 19.30 hrs
Location: Filmtheater Cinerama, Westblaak 18, Rotterdam
Admission: full price € 5, students € 3

13 July – 19 August 2012: Exhibition TENT Academy Awards 2012 in TENT
October 2012: TENT Academy Awards 2012 in Melkweg Mediaroom and Cinema, Amsterdam
December: Exhibition TENT Academy Awards 2012 in Pera Museum, Istanbul

The TENT Academy Awards 2012 is made possible thanks to: Dienst Kunst & Cultuur Rotterdam, Stichting Bevordering van Volkskracht, Stichting Organisatie van Effectenhandelaren te Rotterdam.