12.07.2007 - 26.08.2007

TENT Academy Awards 2007

TENT presents the eighth edition of the TENT Academy Awards, a competition between the best graduate videos, films, shorts en animations from all the Dutch art academies in 2007. Thursday July 19, the nominated films were screened in Cinerama Film Theatre. That evening, the jury, consisting of Arjon Dunnewind (director IMPAKT), Wendelien van Oldenborgh (visual artist), Kees Brienen (programmer IFFR, IDFA) and Lars Henrik Gass (director Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen) chose a winner, and the audience voted for its favourite.

For the first time, this year the Awards are accompanied by an exhibition in TENT, (12.07 – 19.08). The exhibition design is by Ooze, and presents this year’s nominees alongside those of previous editions of the TENT Academy Awards.

Towards the end of August the TENT Academy Awards embark on an (inter)national tour, including: Dresden, Istanbul, Milan, Gogbot Festival Enschede and Friesland Media Art Festival.
September 13-16, 2007 – Gogbot Enschede
September 20-30, 2007 – Media Art Friesland
November 7, 2007, during Sunset Cinema as part of the cultural year Luxemburg 2007.
October 4-28, 2007, during Paraat #3 at De Veemvloer and Horse Move Amsterdam.
November 2007, during one of the video events at Art History Postgraduate Program, Institute of Social Sciences – Istanbul Technical University
January/February 2008 – presentation at the projectspace Ministerie OCW Den Haag

The winner of the TENT Academy Awards 2007 is Dorien de Wit (AKV/St. Joost, Den Bosch), with the film The limits of our universe. She wins an artist-in-residency at Hangar, Centre de producció d’arts visuals in Barcelona (www.hangar.org) The Public Choice Award winner is Mostafa Heravi (Iran) of the Gerrit Rietveld Academie, Amsterdam, with his film Dageraad (Dawn).

Experts have visited all the final exam exhibitions at the Dutch art academies to make this year’s selection. The scouts who made the selection for the TENT. Academy Awards ’07 were:
Jelle Bouwhuis, curator Stedelijk Museum Bureau Amsterdam; Ingrid Commandeur, editor-in-chief of Metropolis M; Mique Eggermont, adviser visual arts Rijksbouwmeester; Kees de Groot, artistic director Gogbot Festival Enschede; Toine Horvers, Sub-Urban Video Lounge Rotterdam, artist; Machteld Leij, journalist; Patricia Pulles, curator Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen Rotterdam; Arjan Reinders, publicist; Arno van Roosmalen, director Stroom The Hague; Bart Rutten, curator Stedelijk Museum ‘s-Hertogenbosch; Sue-an van der Zijpp, curator Groninger Museum

Participating Academies:
Gerrit Rietveld Academie Amsterdam, Koninklijke Academie van Beeldende Kunsten The Hague, Willem de Kooning Academy Rotterdam, Hogeschool voor de Kunsten Utrecht, ArtEZ Academie Beeldende Kunsten Arnhem, AKI ArtEZ Enschede, AKV/St. Joost Breda & Den Bosch, Academie Beeldende Kunsten Maastricht, Academie Minerva Groningen, CABK ArtEZ Academie voor Beeldende Kunsten Zwolle