The TAA, the filmcontest for recently graduated art academy students, this year again returns as Video Art Festival at KINO Rotterdam. On Saturday 8 September starting at 1pm, the best works in audiovisual art from the Netherlands and host country the UK, will be screened in the halls of KINO. During the festival it is also possible to network with film and art professionals. Throughout the awardshow the winners will be revealed, winning an artist residence at Cove Park, Schotland and Het Wilde Weten in Rotterdam. The audience can also vote for their favorite, whom will win the Public’s Choice Award. The festival day will be brought to an end celebratory, with drinks at KINO.

The nominated assembly
The team behind TAA every year accurately puts together a formation of scouts, who select the best works for the award show. The scouts visit final exam presentations of different art academies and select the nominees. The team of scouts is a group of professionals from the visual art film industry. The criteria for nomination is artistic, authentic and original visual language. This year the works are selected by Dutch scouts, but also pioneers from the UK, the host country. The British scouts visit six art academies with focused specialisms in audiovisual arts: University of Art London (UAL), Plymouth College of Art, Leeds Art University, Manchester School of Art, Edinburgh College of Art (ECA) en Glasgow School of Art (GSA).

The jury of the TAA 2018
Chairman – Bregje Benecke –
Programmer IFFR, Rotterdam
Priscila Fernandes – Artist and residence residence coordinator Het Wilde Weten, Rotterdam
Alexia Holt – Associate director & visual arts programme producer at Cove Park, Schotland
Marcus Jack – Founder of Transit Arts and projectcoördinator at LUX, Schotland
Lisa Smith – Founder and director of Roffa mon Amour, Rotterdam

The Dutch scouts
Yvonne de Jong – Willem de Kooning Academie, Rotterdam
Agnes Winter – ArtEZ hogeschool voor de kunsten, Enschede
Frank Blommestijn en Michiel van der Werf – ArtEZ hogeschool voor de kunsten, Arnhem
Eelko Ferwerda – Academie voor Kunst en Vormgeving St. Joost, Breda
Merle Smeets – Hogeschool voor de Kunsten Utrecht
Lene ter Haar – Maastricht Academy of Fine Arts and Design
Eden Mitsenmacher – Gerrit Rietveld Academie, Amsterdam
Lieselot van Damme – ArtEZ hogeschool voor de kunsten, Zwolle
Arno van Roosmalen – Koninklijke Academie van Beeldende Kunsten, Den Haag
Marie-Jeanne Ameln & Ron Rizerfeld – Academie Minerva, Groningen
Ivonne van der Velden – Academie voor Kunst en Vormgeving St. Joost, Den Bosch

The British scouts
Sarah Rowland Hill
– Founder and owner of Video Jam
Hannah James – Artist
Scout Stuart – Filmmaker and scriptwriter
Anne Field – Visual arts publishing and digital consultant
Michaela Cullen – Artist and co-founder of Serf
Vickie Fear – Curator and co-director of Counter

The nominees for the TAA 2018 
Alai Botter – Gerrit Rietveld Academy, Amsterdam
Chantal Wijkmans – AKV | St. Joost, Den Bosch
Frankie James
– Minerva Academy, Groningen
Guus Voorham – Willem de Kooning Academy, Rotterdam
Iris Lam – Royal Academy of Art, The Hague
Joran van Soest – AKV| St. Joost, Den Bosch
Joris Verleg – AKV| St. Joost, Breda
Justin Bentvelsen – University of the Arts, Utrecht
Mélinda Tang – ArtEZ Academy of Art & Design, Enschede
Michelle Ermens – ArtEZ Academy of Art & Design, Zwolle
Morena Bamberger – Academy of Fine Arts and Design, Maastricht
Natalia Papaeva – Royal Academy of Art, The Hague

The nominees for the Best Foreign Film Award 2018
Akari Yasuda – Central Saint Martins/ University of the Arts, London
Amelia Tan – Edinburgh College of Art
Aphra Pilkington – The Glasgow School of Art
Praewa Bulthaweenan – Manchester School of Art
Ruta Puzaite – Leeds Arts University

Programma TAA 2018 in KINO
Blok 1:                    13:00 – 14:05

Blok 2:                    14:20 – 15:10

Blok 3:                    15:25 – 16:10

Blok 4:                    16:25 – 17:15

Award show:          17:15 – 17:45

Drinks and bites:    17:45 – 20:00

Buy your tickets here: KINO
There will also be doorsale.
Regular tickets: 5 euro. Studentrate: 3 euro.

More details on the program? Check our Facebookpage.
Regular tickets: 5 euro. Studentrate: 3 euro.

Screenings at TENT
There will also be a small selection of work of the nominees that will be screened at TENT. The winners will be exhibited Sunday 9 September, and the rest of the nominees during Kunstavond on 14 September, 6pm till 9pm.